Festivals

Next week on The BACK LOUNGE it’s ‘THE STATE OF FESTIVALS’. They’re the mainstay of the event calendar and a huge showcase for talent and source of work for freelancers and suppliers. But, in the UK this year so far, 28 festivals have already gone down or announced this will be their last year. What’s the future & what does survival look like? Our guests this week include John Rostron, Chief Exec of The Association for Independent Festivals https://aiforg.com/. Join us to discuss the summer ahead and what it’s like in other territories. Everyone welcome, whatever your involvement – whether you work with artists who perform at them, or build them and run them and rely on them for income. Wednesday 17th April 6pm BST London / 7pm CET / 1pm EDT / 10am PDT.

boundaries

Next Wednesday on The BACK LOUNGE it’s ‘BOUNDARIES’ ???? Lines can get blurry when the boss, colleagues, the artist, management etc are also your friends & support network. Its inevitable when you work closely, under pressure & for long stretches of time away from home – and all the more reason to have good boundaries in place for your good & theirs. Our guests guiding our discussion this week are the co-founders of Show Support Sam Tewari and Jack Williamson, former music industry execs turned psychologists/psychotherapists who provide mental health support on the road, including recent tours with Yungblud and Lewis Capaldi. Wednesday 10th April 6pm BST London / 7pm CET / 1pm EDT / 10am PDT ????We’re community support for anyone working across live music & events. All welcome ❤

schedule life

Next Wednesday on The BACK LOUNGE it’s a discussion on HOW DO YOU SCHEDULE LIFE? With many of us with a lifestyle that’s erratic at best, balancing being away from home, often scheduled work over holiday seasons, different time zones etc, keeping in touch is hard, & then when the big life stuff happens that you can’t prepare for – whether it affects you directly or is back at home & requiring your attention… what to do? Join us to share lived experience of ways to juggle this & remain sane. Wednesday 3rd April 6pm BST London / 7pm CET / 1pm EDT / 10am PDT

hello

Join us Wednesday on The BACK LOUNGE for a hello and a catch up. No theme, just a check in as the working year ahead continues to find its feet REALLY SLOWLY. We’re a community scattered across the world all with one thing in common, we’ve chosen to ride the highs and the lows of life in live music and events. No pressure to speak or have your camera on. If you’re curious, drop by, come and go as you please. Wednesday 20th March 6pm London, 7pm CET, 2pm EDT, 11am PDT.

corporate

Next Wednesday on The BACK LOUNGE its part 3 of finding work and capitalising on your skillset. This call is how to pivot between touring, events and corporate. Maybe you want to be on the road less (or more), or widen your work opportunities, or just to mix things up, variety is the spice of life after all. Our esteemed guests are Mary Jo Kaczka @missmjk US based TM who also works corporate, Jo Hartle – UK Producer and Event Manager @johartle, Paul Jones – UK Live Freelancers Forum and Tech Manager across Live and Corporate, and Adam Wade – Managing Consultant www.handle.co.uk If you’re curious and want to learn more about how to use your transferable skills, join the call. Wednesday 13th March 6pm GMT / 7pm CET/ 1pm EST / 10am PST

water cooler chat

This Wednesday on The BACK LOUNGE no theme, just a chat. If you work across music and events, come by. We’re a community for anyone who sometimes find jumping from job to job can mean no chance for water cooler chat. Here’s a way to connect and meet other like-minded folks – no pressure to speak or have camera on. ❤ Wednesday 6th March 6pm GMT / 7pm CET/ 1pm EST / 10am PST

check in tpi

It’s a check in and chat this Wednesday on The BACK LOUNGE. No special agenda, just a how is it and how are we. DM for the zoom link ❤ Wednesday 28th February 6pm GMT / 7pm CET/ 1pm EST / 10am PST. PS if anyone is in London this week & is at TPI Awards this Monday, come say hi, I’m proud to say I’ll be with Roadies in Recovery – TPI’s first ever sober table ???? Come by say hi, always nice to meet folks

new Disney

Next week on The BACK LOUNGE we’re celebrating LGBTQ+ history month with EVERYTHING YOU EVER WANTED TO ASK about gender & sexuality. Here’s your opportunity to ask questions in a safe space, without judgement or shaming – all we ask is be kind & be curious. Our guests are Saskhia Menendez, trans woman activist & Laura Ferguson,LGBTQ+ empowerment coach & hypnotherapists. By educating yourself & making a personal choice be an ally, YOU help our industry open up to more diversity ❤ Wednesday 21st February 6pm GMT / 7pm CET/ 1pm EST / 10am PST DM for the zoom link

Limked In

Next Thursday on The BACK LOUNGE its part 2 of our CV sessions & how to get your ducks in row to find work. This one is specifically about LINKED IN Profiles. Is it worth having one? It’s not just for full timers & corporate … & why would you not use a service that promotes what you do & who you are – for free? Our guests are Richard Turrell Director of Marketing (Handle) handlefreelancesolutions.co.uk
& Paul Jones Tech Prod Manager UK Freelancers Forum. If you have no idea where to start or how to make it work for you, join our discussion. DM for the zoom link. THURSDAY 15th February 6pm GMT / 7pm CET/ 1pm EST / 10am PST
PS Part 1 CV workshop is top 5 of our most popular calls ever- message if you’d like the recording.